Blue Turtle Award 2010 - NOMINEES


The standard of entries for this year’s Blue Turtle Award was exceptional. There was an excellent range of nominations, both individuals and groups, from the Crown Dependencies and Overseas Territories.

 The nominees shortlisted were:


Ali Liddle - Falkland Islands. For more than a decade of work on environmental education and awareness in the Falkland Islands.


Akrotiri Environmental Education and Information Centre -Sovereign Base Area Cyprus. For making a significant contribution to the promotion of conservation values in Cyprus since 2004.


Malcolm Smith – Jersey. For working tirelessly for nature conservation in Jersey, including running the Hawk and Owl Trust for 10 years.


La Société Guernesiaise – Guernsey. For contributions to scientific and natural history on Guernsey since 1882 – from managing nature reserves to joint-management of the Guernsey Biological Records Centre.


Stedson Stroud – Ascension Island. For his passion for plant conservation including his involvement in the rediscovery of three plant species previously thought to be extinct.


Trevor Glass – Tristan da Cunha. For determination, dedication and resourcefulness in achieving conservation goals on Tristan.